How To Order At Starbucks If You're Gluten-Free – Delish

Delish editors handpick every product we feature. We may earn commission from the links on this page.
Consider this your gluten-free cheat sheet.
Ah, Starbucks, the glorious land of Caramel Frappuccinos and brightly-colored Strawberry Acai Refreshers. Purveyor of Pumpkin Spice Lattes and bastion of caffeine addicts. But if you’re gluten-free, a menu that’s sparkly and bright to others might start looking a little… grey. What can you order that won’t send your stomach into a tizzy?

If you’re gluten-free, you likely know that eating or drinking out at any restaurant presents challenges. Of course, you’re probably safe with black coffee, and you can reliably enjoy a nice hot café au lait. But did you know that you can also enjoy a Starbucks Frappuccino? Yep, it’s gluten free. The same goes for most of the chain’s Refreshers and hot chocolate offerings. But the list doesn’t stop there. While Starbucks and its sugary, addictive drinks may not seem friendly toward anyone avoiding gluten, you’ll be pleasantly surprised to find a fairly wide selection of goodies that contain no wheat at all.
Not that it’s always been smooth sailing for the gluten-free crowd at Starbucks. The brand sparked outrage for discontinuing its only gluten-free breakfast sandwich back in 2018. It still has a bit of a hill to climb when it comes gluten-free food options. As of today, Starbucks only carries two bakery options that are wheat-free, and one is seasonal.
Nevertheless, it’s still possible to enjoy Starbucks while following a gluten-free diet. Here’s everything you need to know.
Disclaimer: These Starbucks items are gluten-free, but things can change. If you’re unsure, please ask a barista.
Where would Starbucks be without its classic coffee? Gluten-free customers, you’ll be pleased to hear that nearly all of Starbucks’s java-based drinks are wheat-free and compatible with a gluten-free diet.
Whether you like to start your morning with a hot cup of Dark Roast or prefer a more deluxe option like a Nitro with Caramel Cold Foam, there are plenty of gluten-free drinks on the menu.

For those gluten-freers looking for that extra boost of caffeine, we present: all of Starbucks’ gluten-free espressos. Just steer clear of the oat milk.

The crown jewel of Starbucks products, these cocoa-laced coffee drinks have been popular with customers since the mid-90s. We sure know the addictive power of the Frappè, and fortunately, gluten-free folk can still enjoy them. Just avoid the Java Chip Frappuccino, as the java chips are known to contain wheat.

If you’re in the mood for a signature Starbucks drink and you’d rather get your energy kick from sugar than caffeine, you’re in luck. Here is the list of gluten-free, non-coffee blended Frappés. Most of them are crème-based instead of coffee-based.

If you’re more of a tea person, or are trying to cut down on your caffeine intake, Starbucks has a pretty wide selection of teas. Most of them can be served hot or iced, and you can add custom syrups to some of the plain teas (check to see if they’re gluten-free first, though). Here are all of the teas Starbucks offers for gluten-free customers.

Starbucks Refreshers are popular for their vibrant colors and creative takes on fruit juices. While some of them do have a comparable amount of caffeine to coffee-based beverages, others don’t—making them a great way to enjoy Starbucks without getting the jitters. And thankfully, most are gluten-free. Here’s a full list of them.

If you’re looking for a little sweet something-something to go with your drink, Starbucks has a delectable selection of pastries. Unfortunately, there aren’t many options for those who are strictly no-gluten. The Gluten-Free Marshmallow Dream Bar is only certified gluten-free option that’s widely available.

If you’re a Starbucks fan, there’s nothing better than getting to the fridge and seeing it fully-stocked with Starbucks Bottled Cappuccinos in literally every flavor. You don’t have to miss out if you’re gluten-free—these, among several other Starbucks bottled drinks, contain zero gluten.

Outside of drinks and pastries, Starbucks also carries a few miscellaneous food items, some of which are gluten-free, or don’t contain any added gluten. The latter isn’t suited for those with celiac disease or other gluten allergies, but great for those looking to cut back.

This is a list of common garnishes and syrups at Starbucks that are also considered gluten-free.

source